Iron & Steel Society contacts

Below is a list of contacts for the Iron & Steel Society. Click on a highlighted name to send an email to that person.

Professor Martin Brunnock Tata Steel Strip Products   (Chairman)

Mr Ian Warrington
(Society Co-ordinator)
The Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining
Stoke Office
Shelton House
12 Stoke Road
Stoke on Trent ST4 2DR

Tel: +44 (0) 1270 874116
Fax: +44 (0)1782 221722

Board members:

Dr Laura Baker Tata Steel Strip Products

Mr John Beeley Outokumpu Stainless

Dr Rob Boom Delft University of Technology

Mr John Dale British Steel

Professor Claire Davis University of Warwick

Mr Brian Edy Materials Processing Institute

Dr Geoff Hale Consultant

Mr Andrew Kirton-Vaughan Liberty Speciality Steel

Mr Joe Lee Primetals Technologies

Emma Leighton Taylor & Francis Group

Dr Chris McDonald Materials Processing Institute

Dr Norrie McPherson Consultant and University of Strathcyde

Dr Chris Melvin Tata Steel Strip Products (Webmaster)

LinkedIn Profile

Dr Chris Melvin is the Iron and Steel Society Board Webmaster. He is currently a process specialist in the Heavy End at TATA Steel Port Talbot currently working on raw material and scrap optimisation and process development.  He's also done work with Galvanising process development and Packaging R&D. He has sat on the local society council for the South Wales Materials Association for 7 years, as young members representative, webmaster and honorary secretary.

Dr Peter Morris Consultant

Dr Cameron Pleydell-Pearce Swansea University

Dr David Price Consultant (Secretary)

Dr David Price is the Iron and Steel Society Board secretary. He is a metallurgist who has worked all his adult life in the steel industry - in manufacturing, process and product development, and in steel customer-related activities. He was Executive Editor of the IOM3 journals Ironmaking and Steelmaking and Steel World for 10 years, and still works in steel-related technical publishing.

Dr Ken Ridal Consultant

Mr Bob Ruddlestone Materials Processing Institute

Mr James Taylor Materials Processing Institute

Dr Richard Thackray University of Sheffield