Beilby Medal and Prize

The Beilby Medal and Prize is sustained by a Trust Fund commemorating Sir George Beilby FRS who was President of The Society of Chemical Industry from 1898-99, The Institute of Chemistry from 1902-12 and The Institute of Metals from 1916-18, and founding chairman of the Fuel Research Board. The award is administered in rotation by the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3), The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) and the Society of Chemical Industry (SCI).

The 2017 Award will be administered by SCI

The Beilby Medal and Prize is awarded annually to a scientist or engineer to recogise substantial work of exceptional practical significance in applied materials science, chemical engineering, energy efficiency or a related field. Preference is given to candidates in the early stages of their career.

The award is open to members of IOM3, RSC and SCI and non-members based in the UK or overseas.

2014 Beilby Award winner

Professor Javier Pérez-Ramírez

Professor Javier Pérez-Ramírez has published over 250 articles and is co-inventor of 13 patents. His research tackles the major concerns facing today's society, such as the energy crisis and the need for environmental protection. His team focuses on the fundamental design and technical development of new catalytic materials and reactor engineering projects, favouring more efficient and sustainable manufacturing within the chemical industry.

News item